A note to all poets and artists

Happiness rushes through my veins while I write,
And as I complete those lines, I look at them and smile.
But when I put it for thou to read,
The same words make my nerves squeal…

~Sushant

A note to all poets and artists
{Anxiety}

A few weeks ago I was in a phase where I felt words were waiting to burst out of me. Maybe it was good weather. A consequence of this phase was the increased frequency of the couplets (good, bad or whatever) that I was posting on this blog. Some of these couplets did generate a decent amount of likes. By decent I mean 7-8. The fact that someone read it and bothered to click on the like button kept me satisfied. But these likes created expectations in me for equal, if not greater likes with the next couplet. This led to an uncanny anxiety about the popularity of the next entry I posted. My mind occupied with perceptions and likability of my poems thought less about poetry and more about likes.

Will people read them? If they read them will they like it? Will they comment on it? Will the comments be positive? What should I do to be more likable?
Phew! Poetry was lost. I virtually stopped writing. My own poetry felt lame to me and this was bad.

Although I appreciate this system of appreciation facilitated by likes, it did create a dangerous reciprocal effect of anxiety on me. I’ve tried to come out with a solution i.e. to keep doing my job without any expectation. If words burst out of me, I’ll let them flow, while keeping my expectations low. I will definitely not indulge in the culture of reciprocating “Likes”.

Poetry or creation of art is not a transaction that will result in reception of applause. Happiness out of composing poems or creating any form of art should not come from likes or any other approval.

Accept applause, sure, please do.

But when you expect applause, when you do your work in order (and because of) applause, you have sold yourself short. That’s because your work is depending on something out of your control. You have given away part of your art. If your work is filled with the hope and longing for applause, it’s no longer your work–the dependence on approval has corrupted it, turned it into a process where you are striving for ever more approval. ~ Seth Godin

4 thoughts on “A note to all poets and artists

  1. Well i was looking at this page to see if thr is any new poem to read n got the answer 🙂 … Way to go!! Nice Post 🙂

  2. Its human nature to be liked. When we are talking about something as fluid and beautiful as poetry, it is sort of obvious that if readers felt joy and shared this feeling with the poet, it will be nice – very nice. I think every poet goes through this. Even big shots – poets. I would go all giddy if my poems were published.
    Ideally I will be content with number of likes my poetry I have. At the same time, I do value my poem to stand alone with out any ‘likes’ as a feeling of expression knows no bounds of joy, and it does not matter how many likes or unlike s for that matter gather attention. Sure easy to say then follow, but best if we follow. cheers to all poets out there
    Liked the post enjoyed it 🙂

Leave a Reply

