Poetry – Top Five Picks

These are my top five picks of poets and their poetry, which I have come across till now. I hope you appreciate and enjoy it.

1. Pablo Neruda – He is one of my favorite poets who have composed romantic poems. Pablo Neruda was a Chilean poet, diplomat and politician. He chose his pen name after Czech poet Jan Neruda. In 1971 Neruda won the Nobel Prize for Literature.

Well, now,
if little by little you stop loving me
I shall stop loving you little by little.

If suddenly
you forget me
do not look for me,
for I shall already have forgotten you.

(A verse from If you forget me by Pablo Neruda)

2. Robert Frost – His poems have left a mark since they first made an appearance in my childhood textbooks. One of the most popular and critically respected American poets of his generation, Robert Frost received four Pulitzer Prizes for Poetry.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

(A verse from The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost.)

3. William Wordsworth – I came across his poetry and that of Robert Frost in school. William Wordsworth was a major English Romantic poet who helped launch the Romantic Age in English literature.

For oft when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood,
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude,
And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the Daffodils.

(A verse from I wandered lonely as cloud by William Wordsworth.)

4. Maya Angelou – I first came across Maya Angelou’s work around five years back. Her poem Phenomenal Woman was impressive and I started reading about her and her work. Maya Angelou’s list of occupations includes pimp, prostitute, night-club dancer and performer. She is best known for her series of autobiographies, which focus on her childhood and early adult experiences. The first, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings tells of her life up to the age of seventeen. This brought her international recognition and acclaim.

I know why the caged bird sings, ah me,
When his wing is bruised and his bosom sore,
When he beats his bars and would be free;
It is not a carol of joy or glee,
But a prayer that he sends from his heart’s deep core,
But a plea, that upward to Heaven he flings –
I know why the caged bird sings.

(A verse from I know why the caged bird sings by Maya Angelou.)

5. Rabindranath Tagore – The list is incomplete without the first non-European noble laureate in literature. I had not read his work for a long time but it was a just matter of time before I got hooked to his work.

The morning will surely come, the darkness will vanish,
and thy voice pour down in golden streams breaking through the sky.
Then thy words will take wing in songs from every one of my birds’ nests,
and thy melodies will break forth in flowers in all my forest groves.

(A verse from Patience (Gitanjali) by Rabindranath Tagore.)

There are many more who have created master pieces in poetry. This is just my thought and opinion based on my narrow knowledge. Feel free to express your thoughts in the comments section below. I hope you enjoyed reading this post and other poems on this blog.

3 thoughts on “Poetry – Top Five Picks

  1. Pingback: ofsol

Leave a Reply

